Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Humping??
Ryannbaby posted:
Are any of your little ones humping? Isabella has been doing it for about a month or so. She will do it just before bed, and only with her special bear that we can absolutely NOT take away from her without a complete meltdown. She needs it to sleep. If she was doing it to anything else, this would be easy to fix ... but as I said, we just can't take it away. Her pedi said it's very normal, and if she continues to do it at the age where she can comprehend what we tell her, that we need to explain to her that what she is doing is private and she needs to go into her bedroom to do it. Not like she's being punished, just so that she knows it isn't acceptable for her to do in public. I'd hate to see it continue on that long! I was thinking last night, this is such a routine that she has - doing it before bed - what if it continues on for years?? Is anyone else's LOs doing this??

roni090909 responded:
I have no experience with this but I couldn't help but laugh sorry.

I would think its normal. It just like boys playing with themselves. Really I don't think you can explain it to her at this point. I think you just have to hope she doesn't start doing it in public.
Me (30) DH (37) DS born 10/20/08 New Little Girl due 11/11/10

sarah0323 responded:
Lurking...

My DS1 who is six started it at around this age. He still does it to this day but only with his bear from when he was little. He doesn't do it as often maybe a couple times a month that I know about but we had to have the same conversation that this is something that you do in the privacy of your bedroom. When he was younger I couldn't find a reason why he did it. Now it seems that he humps when he has been stressed or worried about something that day. My other LO's don't do this.

Ryannbaby replied to sarah0323's response: