Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
adderall vs concerta?
An_191107 posted:
I have just started using Adderall (20 mg) 2x daily and am 40 years old. I also take prestiq and zoloft for anxiety and depression. I have noticed this medicine to be working in the afternoon more-so than in the morning. I know that I am new to this, however, I'm not sure how much of a difference that this is making, all around. Anyone experience and of this. I also have no desire to eat - will this go away or will this stay as long as I am on Adderall? Any info is welcome.

tklawson responded:
A lack of desire to eat is very common with stimulents. SSRI's and selective norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors can also have some of those side effects. Depression and/or anxiety have many distinctions. Concerta, a long acting drug has a 10-12 Hr. action. Methylphenadate is different than mixed amphetamine salts. Adderall is available in both extended release and regular(4-6 Hr duration) Most MD's now prefer a XL release formula to assure adaquate all-day levels. I prefer to titrate to dose empiracally to prevent insomnia. Discuss the best way w/ the Dr. for appropriate dose and time for YOUR needs.

Andrew Adesman, MD replied to tklawson's response:
You may experience less appetite loss with a long-acting methylphenidate formulation like Concerta. You might also be able to get by with less medication in the afternoon if there is still some of the morning dose working at mid-day. Discuss with your doctor lowering the Adderall tablet to 15mg. You can try this briefly by splitting the Adderall tablets to 3/4 once you have reviewed this with your prescribing clinician. Lastly, perhaps you could take your mid-day dose a little later; this might help your mid-day appetite and it may be more compatible with the current AM dose.

An_191108 responded: