Skip to content
If I have ADD would necessarily be crippling?
An_191236 posted:
Anon_129711 posted:I am a college sophomore in an honors program. My parents have always stressed academics. I have always received good grades. It took me very little effort until I got to college to get good grades, but I think this is mostly because my high school did not maintain a high academic standard rather than my diligence. During high school I completed the vast majority of my assignments in home room, lunch, or just in class when I could get away with it. One of my close friends was diagnosed with ADD when he was about six. We are very similar people and I share his general restless, above average academic performance, short attention span, and poor memory.

At this point began to wonder if I had something like he had. I asked myself why was he diagnosed and not me. My friend's parents got divorced when he was young and his father did not hold my friend to a high academic standard, though he is very smart. Around this time he was diagnosed with ADD. I on the other hand had parents who strongly maintained that academics were paramount since an early age. I maintained the academic performance they expected with little effort and did so primarily to avoid their disapproval and punishment. I'm aware that parenting does not have an effect on individual having ADD, but is it possible that parenting can effect the likelihood of an individual with ADD being diagnosed? Is it possible the pressure to perform well academically from my parents and easiness of my high school allowed me to "overcome" ADD, while without any pressure my friend's ADD was more apparent and as a result diagnosed? I only spend so much time discussing my friends situation because I was very close to him and he seems to have grown up in a different but parallel situation.