Skip to content
Should children be given ADHD medication?
swingod posted:
I am a medical student with a degree in physiology and neuroscience. I have done a lot of work relating to ADHD medication, and in my opinion I think that there are many consequences to giving the undeveloped brain the mainstream ADHD medications. I recently updated my blog with an article discussing just this, check it out:

http://streetmd.blogspot.com/2011/03/giving-kids-meth-update.html
FirstPrevious12NextLast

artilleries responded:
You might want to change the unfortunate description in your blog's link (meth) to 'med'

swingod replied to artilleries's response:
Methamphetamine=Desoxyn, an ADHD medication. Read my article and you'd understand my usage of the term

artilleries replied to swingod's response:
Yes, I'm quite aware that methamphetamines are used to treat ADHD, but considering all of my co-workers had a gut reaction of, "Wait, what?" you might get more hits on your blog by changing the link title.

Boyzmomee responded:
My son has seen both an established pediatric neurologist as well as an established child psychiatrist who agree on my son's treatment with stimulant medication.

I am surprised that someone who is a medical student would start a thread entitled "Should children be given ADHD medication?"

There are multiple types of ADHD medication which include both stimulant and non stimulant medications. Each medication in it's own right has an individual chemical combination, so to speak.

In addition, you should recognize yourself, as a medical student, that there are no blanket treatments for each condition. Just as all asthma patients are not under the same treatment regime, the same should be true for children diagnosed with ADHD.

Boyzmomee replied to swingod's response:
I think he does. That was the point and why he made the suggestion.

Boyzmomee replied to artilleries's response: