Skip to content
Temporary Workers Rights and Mental Health Discrimination
ChristophorM posted:
I have ADHD/OCD. This combination of traits is probably the reason I'm so good at my work. I'm a technician. I primarily work on computers, but I love solving all kinds of problems. I tend to volunteer for the most challenging projects that no one else wants because they're guaranteed to be learning opportunities and involve solving interesting problems. After nearly 20 years in the field, I have developed a wide skill set. I can write computer code, repair circuit boards, configure routers, pick locks or whatever. If I need to learn a new skill, I'll do it. I never give up until the job is done. Obstacles rarely slow me down. I'll go over, around behind or plow through anything that gets in the way. I love it when I do something I was told was impossible.

That stuff sounds great at the job interview. These skills got me may last 2 jobs. They also cost me those same jobs.

When the employer puts me on a task and says do what it takes, they don't realize what might happen when they become the obstacle. When I need access to resources controlled by others, there's always tension. I can't always explain what I'm doing in a way they understand. If someone causes a delay and they don't respond quickly with a reasonable explanation, I try to solve that problem by the same means. I can't stop myself. If they don't understand how I work bad things happen... to me.