Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Adult ADHD and Bi-polar????
tara6684 posted:
I have never used WebMD before so I don't know exactly how this works, but I have a questions for anyone who can give me any answers. I have recently been diagnosed with adult ADHD and about 12 years ago I was diagnosed with bi-polar. My question is what is the difference between these 2 disorders??? Being diagnosed with bi-polar so long ago I completely understand it, but the ADHD part of things I do not understand. I am seeing a new doctor and she truly believe's that this is what I have, but how can anyone even a doctor be sure???? Please anyone with ANY answers I would greatly appreciate the help thank you ahead of time!!!!

dogg2 responded:
Tara, from what i understand, bipolar is in phases, one extreme point as opposed to another it could be several weeks, months, even year(s) apart-! ADHD is always going on!!! the two can be confused for the other depending on what phase of bipolar you're in. if you're overly exuberant & hyped up, then anyone will say you're ADHD; if opposite end of spectrum of bipolar, they will say you're depressed or ADD (inattentive, non-focusing, but no hyperactivity).

however, the two can also be taking you for a ride concurrently; you can have both symptoms or mental issues (and others) at the same time, too. it will take very careful examination & diagnosis to confirm or deny this. be careful & i hope things work out & you get the help you need, Tara. hope i helped a little...

thebeefman replied to thebeefman's response:
BTW. ADD drugs worked for me and I am now working with my dr. to get off them. There is a very good book to help you cope with ADD.

You Mean I'm Not Lazy, Stupid or Crazy?!
by Kate Kelly

GyspieMom responded: