Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Newly medicated, having trouble coping
jayebug posted:
Hi, so I haven't been newly diagnosed, I have had psychologists tell me for years I have had something wrong with me since I was in college, but no on could figure it out, but that was 15 years ago, so maybe this was before anyone really knew what ADD was. I'm a nurse, so focus and organization is a must, and I was fine up until recently when I left the hospital setting and became a home care nurse. Home care is less supervised and less regimented than the hospital, you really have to have strong self management skills, which I soooo lack, and didn't realize this because I thought hey, nursing is nursing, right? Plus you have a ton of paperwork and strict deadlines, like I'll have only 24 hrs to hand in a 36 page evaluation. So, recently I ran into trouble with the paperwork aspect, overlooking details, not being able hand in stuff on time, etc, etc, plus I have that problem where I just kinda blurt things out, not like Tourette's, it's more like I get wrapped up in my speedy thoughts and I don't usually think things through because my brain is in such dissarray. Plus I can't follow directions well. So needless to say, I'm not a management darling, actually, I know they think I'm pretty annoying. I'm terrible with the management hierarchy, I always seem to go to the WRONG person with a problem, etc, etc. I know I would've been fired if my employer wasn't so terrified of a lawsuit. I started seeing a psychiatrist because of my problems and she put me on FMLA for ten days and started me on Adderall. So, the first dose I took of five mgs didn't really do a whole lot, it kinda took the buzz outta my head, but that was it, I'm up to 20mgs, but am still scattered, forgetful and am still just cutting people off and blurting things out in a conversation. All I seem to get is this nice feeling for the first couple of hours and then I kinda crash a few hour