Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
ADHD can be beaten by hardwork
Oldmiddie18 posted:
I am 81 years old, have been married to the same woman for 58 years, have had a successful career and have all the symptoms of ADHD. However, I learned at an early age that if I worked hard--harder than many of my friends, I could succeed. I got through high school only one semester late despite having had to move frequently because my Father was in the Coast Guard and transferred often. I took a competetive exam for the US Naval Academy and did well enough to be admitted. I graduated in 1953 and was married the day after graduation. I spent three years in the USAF and resigned to go back to college to qualify for medical school. We spent one year at UVA and was accepted for the MD/PhD program at what is now Case Western Reserve U in Cleveland, OH. After graduation in 1963 I worked as a faculty member and research scientist at Vanderbilt University, UMass, and the University of Texas in Houston as Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. My wife and I have raised three very successful children.