Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Ambidextrous training side effects?
demahom posted:
Hello,

I am a 19 year old guy and about a couple of days ago I started training to become ambidextrous. I feel weird when I try to use my left hand but I figured that that is just my brain resisting the training. After that I read an article on webmd (http://children.webmd.com/news/20100125/ambidextrous-kids-more-likely-to-have-adhd ) that suggests that ambidextrous kids are more likely to have ADHD. I was wondering if it is going to be harmful for me as I am right handed and I am training to become ambidextrous. Would there be any adverse effects?

Regards,
Concerned Person

LokRobster responded:
Dear Concerned Person,

I would figure that training to use your left hand is unlikely to cause an onset of ADHD at age 19.

I base this conjecture on the observation that most ninja warriors train off-hand weapon use, but they're known for their remarkable focus and abilities as opposed to ADHD-type symptoms or behaviors.

I'm sure that some one professional will have a better answer...

Patricia Quinn, MD responded:
Dear Concerned

ADHD and LD, as well as difficulty learning a second language, has long been know to be associated with ambidexterity. That being said,however, I agree that your brain dominance and handedness should be well established at this point and that you will not delevop any issues as a result of trying to develop skills that stimulate the other side of your brain. Many people need to use their non-dominant hand for various reasons without any ill-effect other than the inconvenience and bother brought on by frustration because of lack of skill and accuracy.

Pat Quinn, MD

demahom replied to Patricia Quinn, MD's response:
Thank you for your response!

resaberts responded: