Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
My Son With ADHD....and More
LoriAnne67 posted:
Hello, I am new to this, but was encouraged by my 23 yr. old daughter to seek online communities where i could talk to other parents who have children with ADHD and other type dis-ordes, and maybe even seek medical professionals advice and/or tips. So, here goes.... I am a 44 yr.old Mother, with a 7 yr. old son(8 in a couple weeks) who was diagnosed (at age 3) with ADHD-Combined Type, this was extremely hard as a Mother to hear that i needed to medicate such a young child, and I almost didn't! But then, i sat down, cried, and then thought to myself...am I being selfish? This is about my baby, not me, he is not comfortable in his own body, so i decided to get with the program and medicate him and began taking him to therapy and a child psychiatrist. We knew even as a baby that "JoJo" had "something" going on, he never(and i mean never) slept through the night his whole first year, he barely slept at all, he would just scream and cry, and we could do nothing to comfort him, I felt totally helpless. I remember trying to hold him and walk with him, and having a hard time because his whole body was stiffened straight. As he grew, more things became very apparent...he was extremely active(Hyper) had a hard time focusing and/ or staying on task, had spells where he "zoned" out, could not handle any type of transitioning, began having aggressive behaviors, had severe tantruming, and the list goes on......