Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Possibly stopping meds
mom2cadie posted:
My daughter is 6 and is currently taking Daytrana Patch and zoloft. Ive noiced recently that she looks so unhealthy. Her color is so pale, eyes kinda sunk back and dark circles under them. I've also noticed what we believe to be side effects of these meds. I have a call in to her dr. but i was wondering if anyone had noticed these type things with these meds or others and if anyone had suggestions for controling symptoms without meds. Im very nervous about stopping them. But I believe they are the problem. Please leave any helpful advise you may have. Thanks ahead of time.

victoriabader responded:
Dear Mom,

please start to seriously consider weaning your child off ALL MEDS!!!! i cannot believe a doctor has put a six year old on meds. This is very bad for her. i am a ballet teacher for over 30 years I know kids, seen it all also my son was diagnosed with ADD when he was 15 and put on meds which became a drug habit leading to heroin"026Not all kids end up with this problem but the meds for ADD are speed! The only cure is a focus orientated activity like ballet or Gym or piano?? These really help as they teach the brain how to focus and calm down. They have very good benifits. The other is diet very careful what she east. no sugar"026NONE!!!!! if you want to help your daughter re gain her true calm and focus stop the meds and never never see that doctor again. You will have to wean her off slowly as an abrupt stop will be too much shock for her"026do it slow
Good luck.
If she stays on meds at this age she will be on drugs her whole life"026please stop them your instincts are correct

Gina Pera responded:
Hi mom2cadie,

You say you've noticed recently that your daughter looks so unhealthy.