Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
I don't know what to do at this point..
Jrifenburg posted:
So I'm 18 years old and I have been going to see a psychiatrist for the past couple of months, and in this time I've been prescribed Buproprion (anti-depressant medication). During this time that I have been on it, I've yet to see the kind of change my psychiatrist has told me about such as being more active, actually being able to have a normal conversation, ect..
About a year ago I first read about ADD and ADHD, and (I know the risks) I took ADD medication my friend had gotten from his brother. I felt like nothing I've ever felt before. I was alert attentive, I could focus on homework for long periods of time, I could keep thoughts in my head for more than 5 seconds, I could keep a conversation going, getting involved much deeper in the conversations than I do normally. I'm not sure but I think it was just the feeling of being a normal person. I used to be a straight A student from third grade up til 7th grade. I barely passed 8th grade and had to repeat 9th grade, which was devastating by the way, since the only good friends I hung out with, and still do, were going on without me. The second year of 9th grade up til just yesterday I've been barely getting by.
My psychiatrist and the prescribed pills aren't working one bit and a couple of days ago I went to see him. I had just been denied a job back where I used to live because I failed the drug test. I used to smoke weed a lot. I started to smoke probably around the end of 9th grade. Until recently the only time I smoke is when I go down to hang out with my friends for the weekend. Anyways, when I went to see him, he said, " I can't help you if you keep smoking weed." So obviously he is a terrible psychiatrist, since that isn't even where my problems are stemming from. Plus he makes me feel like an idiot.