Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
How To Tackle the Emotional LABILITY and SENSE OF BOREDOM that comes with ADHD??
An_247980 posted:
Hi Friends, i am a graduate medical student. i am one of those few rare species who was not diagnosed with ADHD in his childhood, thanks to my rather introvert nature and ignorance of my parents. i was a bright student from my childhood days, as suggested by my performances in the xams and sports activities. so nobody really bothered much. But as I grew up, I started to do things little diffrently from the studs of my age. my performance gradually worsened. thou i was good wid maths and science, the language portion was a bit too much for me, althou i cud score enough in it to pass, but it ws way below what i expected. and another grave problem ws making silly mistakes in maths, forgetting things at school, shifting too quickly betwen subjcts, etc.Though my teachers pointed out my probs to my parents,they wer least concernd of it and attributed my failures to my carelessness or idiocy. My teachers wud often wonder how can a stud who cudnt sit stil even for a minute in the classroom, score so high in the xams!! but even then i sensed there was som prob in me dats preventing me from scorin to my potential. but cudnt do anythn back den as i ws only a kid:-(
and even to deir disbelief i am studying what is deemed as the toughest course in the universe!! being a med student and being amongst such highly intelligent and attentive guys, i feel myself completely alienated due to my ADHD. The Profs, being doctors also fail to realize or rather ignore such students as me, for what they think is IDIOCY or INSINCERETY OR LACK OF INTEREST , etc. It really hurts when you are being neglected for not being able to memorize stuff due to the lack of concentration and hence the lesser duration of studies. please help me out so dat one day i too can bcom an xpert in this topic and help many more like me.

Patricia Quinn, MD responded:
Dear An_247980