Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
LD questions
An_250793 posted:
This is not an ADHD question but a related LD question. I am a 30-year-old doctoral student and am unsure if I have an LD. I have always excelled at reading and in school but have severe spelling/writing problems. I have an excellent vocabulary, have excellent reading comprehension, but I cannot spell which significantly slows everything I do. I wrote this post in a word document and struggled to spell "comprehension, significantly, and everything, etc." I painfully and slowly verbally mediate and sound words out phonetically. Much of the time I get most of the letters but sequence things wrong. I can breeze through multi-hour exams that my peers struggle with but had to think if "everything" was spelled with a "v" or an "f" and then make sure the sequencing was right as I wrote it out. When I use spell check I often choose the wrong words to correct my misspelled words. No matter how much effort I put in I cannot seem to recall the spelling and sequence of really basic words even though I can recognize them and use them articulately. I make up mnemonics but somehow still get confused about how to spell stupid words like "their." Am I just a bad speller or should I be assessed? What would they even do?

Featuring Experts

My foray into the field of ADHD began by chance. In 1999, I picked up a library book about the brain. And what I read changed my life and my husband&#...More

Helpful Tips

ADHD - Healing the Myth
Hi, This is a great video about the cause and natural solutions for ADHD that some very wise doctors are tuned into. You can view at ... More
Was this Helpful?
0 of 1 found this helpful

Helpful Resources

Be the first to post a Resource!

Related News

There was an error with this newsfeed

Related Drug Reviews

• Drug Name User Reviews

Report Problems With Your Medications to the FDA