Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
ADHD and pregnacy
amylynmcgill82 posted:
I have been suffering from ADHD since the age of10. Behavioral therapy and the right medication and dose have made my symptoms quite manageable. I am now 31 and I still suffer but over the years, therapy and medication adjustments have made the disease all but disappear. Until recently. I made the joyous discovery that I am expecting my first child. My doctor immediately took me off my ADHD med because it can be potentially harmful tomy unborn baby. I was taking 40 mg adderall xr every am supplemented by a 30 mg adderall immediate release tablet in the afternoon. For years this combination worked like a charm. Since I have come off my meds, the changes have been drastic. I feel like I have reverted back to my childhood ways. It is affecting almost every aspect of my life, especially my work. I am a nurse, and that requires my full concentration which, without my meds, is impossible. I have already been reprimanded by my supervisor for making stupid mistakes. My number 1 priority is the health and safety of my baby, but I was wonderin if there is anyone out there who has been through this n has any advice to offer. I tried talking to my doctor, but it seems like she is not taking my concerns seriously.

brantacanadensis responded:
Hi there,