Skip to content
Herbal alternatives to Adderall etc
Amatwrestler2 posted:
I was diagnosed with ADHD a few months ago. I am a full time college student, full time employe and full time husband / father. Although my office schedule is flexible, I find it entirely too difficult to drive 45 minutes (the closest doctor for ADHD that is approved by my insurance) every 30 days for evaluation and Rx refill. (There is some sort of law that requires this?) I am entering the final 4 classes for my degree and they are the most difficult and require the most function from me.

I took Adderall XR for one month and there was noticable change. I then took Vyvanse for one month and it did not seem quite as effective.

I have no problems with staying awake just everything else.

What are the herbal alternatives available for ADHD?

I can not find squat anywhere mentioning something constructive.

Cheers

allisonludwig responded:
I don't know that there is anything that has been proved through rigorious testing that it defintiely helps, but a coworker of mine suggested some books by Dr. Amen, who has studied ways to increase brain functioning, including ADHD and different natural supplements - such as fish oil, and I can't remember the others.

I've also read (somewhere, I can't recall) that in children anyways, that some of them with ADHD also are iron deficient and resond well to an iron increase in their diet - food and/or supplements.

oh, caffeine is another way. this may actually help you since you are not on medication, whereas I am on medication right now and caffeine only makes me feel anxious and restless.

that's all I have found so far~ Allison

Amatwrestler2 responded:
It is funny you mention iron deficiency. Every blood test I have ever had has shown me to be iron deficient. I will head out and try an iron and a fish oil supplement and see what happens.

Thank you for your input.

Cheers

Byroney_WebMD_Staff responded:
Dear Amatwrestler2,