Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Allergies
An_190929 posted:
I am having the worst allergies I have ever had in my life. I read somewhere recently that doctors sometimes give patients prednisone for severe allergies. I also have RA and had been on prednisone for two years but my rheumatologist recently took me off of it. Can this possibly be a reason why my allergies are so bad now?

Aqua14 responded:
Although I'm not a doctor, I have definitely noticed that when I have had to take oral prednisone (such as when my asthma flares), my allergies are absolutely non-existent. So I'd say yes, stopping prednisone could definitely be one reason why your allergies are bad. (Another could be high pollen counts this spring.)

Hopefully you're able to take antihistamines such as Zyrtec to suppress your symptoms while you're off the prednisone.

Take care and good luck. Judy
It's never too late to be what you might have been. ~ George Eliot. A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

snocrkgrl replied to Aqua14's response:
Judy, Thanks for sharing. I have tried Clariton but it was no help and also Zyrtec but it doesn't seem to do much either. Don't know where to go from here.

Aqua14 replied to snocrkgrl's response:
Probably the best idea would be for you to see an allergist for evaluation and perhaps prescribing of additional medications. Many of us have to take multiple medications during allergy season to keep our allergies under control. Other allergy meds that could be added on to Zyrtec include Singulair, a nasal corticosteroid such as Nasonex, and/or a nasal antihistamine such as Patanase.

There is also a very good OTC antihistamine eye drop sold under various brand names (Alaway, Zaditor, also Claritin and Zyrtec) which is just as good as the more expensive prescription brands.