Skip to content
Allergies to Chlorophyll???
SimPilot posted:
Hello!

One of my co-workers claims that he has an "allergy to chlorophyll..." He says that if he comes in contact with any green plant, he has a reaction. In fact, he has said that if he walks on grass barefoot he develops a rash on his feet. Moreover, if he ingests "anything green that contains chlorophyll" (his phrase) that it causes him temporary nausea or a form of irratable bowel syndrom and in extreme cases he claims that he vomits. "His condition" has caused him to call out of work on Fridays and Mondays and I'm verrrrrryyy concerned for him.

However, I have a hard time believing that this condition is a legitimate allergy or illness. I've never heard of anything like this... I'm no scientist, but from what I remember in college, any plant that converts light into energy contains chorophyll... logically, my co-worker should be allergic to virtually all plants and shouldn't be able to eat any fruits or vegetables (which he does regularly as long as they aren't a shade of green.

I'm curious to see if any professionals have come across cases like this, similar to this or believe there could be truth to his claims.

Thanks!

Take the Poll

Do you believe in Allergies to Chlorophyll?
  • Yes
  • No
  • Yes if I need a mental health day
  • Yes if I am a picky eater
vote
View Poll Results

kc1730 responded:
SimPilot :