Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Am I wrong? Sharing my situation.
Wendy12345678 posted:
Hello everyone, I am on a few other communities here on web md. I graduated from the pregnancy trimester boards to some parenting boards recently, and I decided to look up your alzheimers community and share a situation I am in and get some opinions from people who may be able to understand a little better. I am 30 years old, and my mother who is in her mid 50's has Alzheimers pretty bad. Well this is all kinda personal but I hope to find out what others opinions are. My mother and I have had issues since I was about 12. She was never materal and honestly never wanted kids, but had me because of my father wishes. Once I was old enough to start realizing things I noticed that my mom guilted me into trying to be perfect, until she started having an affair when I was 13. After that she told me about the affair, and pretty much sent me on my own. She's kinda done a few things over the years that made me no longer interested in a relationship with her. I am the only child on my mothers side of the family which puts me in a weird situation. My aunt is caring for my mom, she never had children, and doesn't believe couples should have more than one baby. She has given me many threats if I had more kids. I recently (almost 3 weeks ago) had my third son, and I've kept it secret from my aunt, which also means my mother does not know I've had a baby. I have guilt because I'm very into my "new" family. My husband, kids, and dad are great, and I would prefer not to have my mother or aunt in my life. Now that my mother has been diagnosed my mothers family is quick to tell me that Alzheimer's could be the reason she acted as she did 15 years ago. Could that be true? Also they want me to take some part in caring for her (which I did in the beggining briefly). Especially with my new secret baby, and lack of relationship with her I really dread the thought of caring for her. My moms famil