Skip to content
new caregiver help
An_190779 posted:
I am new at caring for my 82 year old father-in-law who has advanced stage Alzheimer's. He is very agile and physically gets around well. I have noticed that there seems to be an activity thresh hold that we have to keep him under or he becomes unable to quiet down. Today we went out around noon, ate lunch with my sister-in-law, got the car inspected and did a few errands and every since we arrived home he can't seem to settle down.
He is just roaming and roaming around the house trying to get out the door and other busyness. Is this normal? I have noticed this a couple of times and each time has been when we have had a busy day (out and about).
Thanks for your input. The nurse gave us a bendryl type ointment to rub on his wrist but this does not seem to be phasing him.

cjh1203 responded:
I think that sort of agitation is pretty normal in Alzheimer's patients. Is there any way someone can stay home with him when you have a lot of errands to run? For instance, maybe just take him to lunch and then home, and have someone stay with him while you do the rest of your errands? We used to have to do that with my uncle.

Going to different places seems to be overwhelming for Alzheimer's patients, as well as scary. Your father-in-law may be able to handle one or two places at a time, but any more is probably just too much for him.

An article I read said that Benadryl ointment is not absorbed into the bloodstream, so it wouldn't help calm him down like oral Benadryl would.

mwdobrow replied to cjh1203's response:
Thanks for your reply. We will probably have to do just that. He gets very agitated and antsy if he does not go out but overly agitated (to the point he can't calm himslef down) when we do too much. Do you use oral Benedryl? Why would the nurse give us this if it does not work. The cream comes in a syringe so maybe it has other ingredients I do not know about (but will find out).