Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
need a friend to talk to
ladytrojans posted:
My name is Jaye. I need a friend to talk with about dealing with a parent who has Alzheimer's.

suezee52 responded:
Hi Jaye & welcome to this board.

Do you have some questions or just need to vent. Either way, we are here to help or listen. You are not alone.

Suezee

ladytrojans responded:
Hi Suezee, Thank you for replying to my message. This is my first time so I hope I dont mess it up to bad. My question is how do you deal with the anger that you feel caring for a parent with Alzheimers? There are days when mom is good and then there are the days when she is unbearable. How do you deal with it? Jaye

suezee52 responded:
Hi Jaye,

Short term solution: Whenever things got so bad that I couldn't deal with Mom, I would go into another bedroom and scream into my pillow. Then I would feel better. I know the things that made me angry weren't Mom's fault. She was old and had Alz and couldn't help herself.

Long term solution: If possible, I would try to get out a couple times a month. I had my neice or my daughter babysit Mom. As a caregiver, you have to take care of yourself first in order to take care of your parent. We would also take Mom to an adult day care once in awhile. She seemed to enjoy that and Hubby and I were able to have some alone time.