Skip to content
In need of assistance please
wingingit posted:
This is my first time reaching out.
My husband is an only child, father passed away many years ago...and his Mother is 85 with Dementia/Alzheimers. She currently lives on her own in an apartment.
Mother and son have a troubled relationship, mainly due to his Mothers constant criticism ....his entire life, so three day's together is three day's too long.
My husband loves his mother very much..he does anything and everything for her...mind you..it never meets her expectations...but that doesn't stop him from trying.
Now, lets add a dose of Dementia/Alzheimers to the normal constant criticism and I find myself alone in taking on the responsibility of caretaker. I have no experience with aging family members as my family never seems to live past their 50's.
We can not afford assisted living, she is not yet to the point of a nursing home... yet I know my husband and her can NOT live under the same roof without complete misery for ALL.
My Mother in Law is in denial, scared and frustrated; and I am learning I am not as strong and able as I thought I was.
When do you know it is time to start making the calls?
Her short term memory is getting worse, her independence stand is strong.
Can someone please spare some good advice?

cjh1203 responded:
I'm sorry you're having to deal with all this. Caregiving is very difficult, even in the best of circumstances.

Maybe a good first step would be to get in touch with your local Alzheimer's Association and make an appointment to talk to someone about your situation. They can tell you what your options are, and give you the resources to figure out a solution. It could be that bringing in nurse's aides or companions would be enough for right now. The Alzheimer's Association can definitely point you in the right direction.