Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
my first time
esnyder7 posted:
Hi, My name is Beth and I'm new to this. I am 55 but my husband just turned 70, and was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer's (as much as they can diagnose). He's pretty oblivious to the seriousness of it all and really just thinks I'm exaggerating the problem. It is early and so he is still very functional and mostly other people don't notice, but there are few conversations that he and I have that are 100% "normal". Something in the conversaton is inaccurate or doesn't make sense. I know my situation is not nearly as difficult as many, but it does seem lonely because I can't talk to him about it.
I should also mention I have an adult mentally handicapped son who lives with me and who requires a certain amount of care.

cjh1203 responded:
Hello, Beth. I'm so sorry about your husband's diagnosis. What an upsetting thing for both of you.

I think that your husband's reaction is pretty typical. It may not be worth trying to push the issue with him right now.

You hit on what is probably the worst thing about a spouse having Alzheimer's -- on top of everything else, you can't talk about it to the person you've always shared everything with.

Especially because you are already a caregiver for your son, I really think that joining an Alzheimer's support group could be a tremendous benefit to you. You can find out from people who have traveled the same path you're on what to expect, how to handle the challenges that come up, and what resources are available to give you the help you need.

The most important thing is to be realistic about when you do need help -- you probably already know that from caring for your son. It's too easy to think you should or could take care of everything yourself, and become emotionally and physically overwhelmed.

I hope you'll continue to post here and let us know how things are going.

Carol

esnyder7 replied to cjh1203's response: