Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Feel like a terrible son
jimbond007 posted:
My mom recently had a hysterectomy and they ended up taking out her fellopian tubes becasue there was cancer coming out of them. Post tests revealed cancerous lymph nodes. She went in to surgery and I have been through living hell being with her. The agony...not pain...the hallucinations from the drugs...not being able to eat or go to the bathroom....all the tubes in her...she just wanted to leave the hospital and yank out all the tubing. I became the focal point of all this because I was the one that kept her in the hospital and in the bed. She is finally getting better...it was horrible.

During this time...my father who was the nicest father in the world...who has alzeimers and parkinsons (83) is only concerned with himself. I have snapped a few times and I know that I shoudn't. I know that it is the disease. I am a special ed teacher and deal with disease associated behaviors all day lone and it doesn't fase me at all...and it's all day long. I expect it from them.

You would think that I could just understand and it makes me so angry that my dad keeps expecting everyone to cater to his needs when my mom just got out of her second surgery in less than a month. She needed the air conditioning down very low and the door to the hospital room open because of the drugs and surgery....meanwhile he kept telling us to close the door because he was cold. Everytime he would walk in the hospital room after being at the hotel while I was up with my Mom in terror all night no sleep would talk about what he ate and what he wanted for breakfast...dinner...etc..while my mom hadn't eaten for 3days..who thought that her induced state that I was doing it to her...I couldn't understand how he can be so self centered in a time where I am in tears because my Mom may potentially not make it out of the surgery and she is crying and moaning in pain.