Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Grandma discussion points
newtexan11 posted:
I'm new to the world of Alzheimers; my grandma is in stage five and the first in our family to ever be diagnosed. I'm looking for pointers on how to best converse with my grandma when she calls me and is upset saying my grandfather is mean to her and has been hitting her and that she's afraid. He is not harming her physically or mentally. I've tried steering the conversation to another subject, which is fine for awhile and then she'll come back to the subject of hitting and meanness.

Thank you in advance for your suggestions.

davedsel57 responded:
Hello and welcome.

My dad has Alzheimer's (mild - moderate) and is living in a great Assisted Living Facility. He calls me and tells me things that I know are not true. I usually just say "uh, huh - OK dad" and then change the subject. If he tells me something like "the nurses won't give me my insulin shot" I say that I will talk to them and call the head nurse right away. I always find that he is making that story up too.

If there is truly no abuse happening then you do need to try and convince your grandmother of that and then change the subject. Don't argue with her or make her upset.

I understand how difficult it is to have a loved on with Alzheimer's. I hope your grandfather is getting help with caring for your grandmother, such as someone coming in or taking her to adult day care periodically. Help and support from family and friends is essential and I pray your grandparents are getting that.

You may find it very helpful to go to the Alzheimer's Association web site at http://www.alz.org/
There are pages for your local chapter, message boards and a great deal of excellent information.

I pray your family is able to effectively care for your grandmother.

Click on my user name or avatar picture to read my story.

Blessings, Dave

cjh1203 responded:
Hi Newtexan-