Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Please help
bparksmile posted:
Hello everyone. I am new to this so I am sorry if I am not doing this right. My Uncle is suffering from Dementia and we just put him in a nursing home this week. It seems that he has gotten worst since we put him there. He has become very violent is this normal? And is there any medication that he can take to help him be calm? It seemed he was better at home then he is in there. My family and I are torn. Please help.

cjh1203 responded:
I'm really sorry about what's going on with your uncle. I know how distressing it is for your family.

The transition to a new place can be upsetting for a dementia patient, but they usually do well once they're settled in. Have you talked to his doctor about the violence? There are medications that can help. What has the staff's response been?

Is he in a regular skilled nursing home, or a memory-care facility?

It would probably help you and your family a lot to contact your local Alzheimer's Association. They can give you information and advice, and they offer support groups that can be invaluable.

Don't give up on the facility yet. It's likely that he'll settle in nicely, or it might be that it's just not the right facility and a different one would work better.

I know there are a lot of emotions involved in this, including guilt, but dementia patients really do often do better in a good facility than they do at home; sometimes it's just rough in the beginning.

Best wishes.
Carol

beethkfull2 responded:
Hi bparksmile,