Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
What to do when you hate your job?
antthony57 posted:
My job is causeing anxiety and depression in my life. I feel like I am trapped. I went to school for 2 years and recieved a degree in Multimedia Technology. I have been working as a civil service employee for about 8 years doing Graphic design. My co-workers are great people but everyday is a struggle to come to work. Sunday nights the anxiety starts and every morning I just don't want to get out of bed. I am supporting my wife (who also works) and 3 children so walking away is not an option. I can't really figure out a point when it took a turn for the worse. I just sit and stare at the computer somedays feeling like I am going crazy and then the depression starts. I am currently on effexor and klonopin but I just sit here unmotivated and wasting time. I used to have such an active life and my job is not the only contributor to my depression but it is a big factor. I feel so usless at work. Everyday the talk about how how department may get shut down. When I first got here we had 68 employees and now we are down to 7. What do I do?
FirstPrevious12NextLast

antthony57 responded:
Anyone???

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi Antthony,

It can take a while for others to see and respond so we appreciate your patience.

I have a feeling we've all been there at one time or another and it's not easy. I hope that Dr. Farrell and others have some ideas for you.

I know this is easier said than done when you're busy with your life and family and work itself, and you're having problems with motivation, but it may help to update your resume and look at job sites to see what's out there. It may spark something or at least give you hope that one day, when you're ready, there will be something you can move on to.
We never touch people so lightly that we do not leave a trace.
~Peggy Tabor Millin

Patricia Farrell, PhD responded: