Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Does cognitive therapy work with DISORDERS?
echamplin posted:
You may have seen me post here and there on the WebMD Anxiety & Panic Community Forums. I've been battling with generalized anxiety disorder for 7 months now, and I'm still being thrown around on medication. My main daily symptoms include dizziness and irrational thoughts.

I was seeing a psychologist (we didn't get involved in the cognitive therapy), when I stopped going because it was getting too expensive. Would it be worth it to return to the psychologist to start cognitive therapy, if what I'm struggling with is both physical and mental symptoms of generalized anxiety disorder? I've only had 1 devastating panic/anxiety attack, which is what started this 7-month (and going) struggle of dizziness and irrational thoughts. I don't quite understand how cognitive therapy can help a disorder (compared to someone who can voluntarily choose whether to be anxious or not).

Patricia Farrell, PhD responded:
I don't understand what you mean when you say you were seeing a psychologist but "we didn't get involved in the cognitive therapy." Do you perhaps mean you were seeing a psychiatrist? A psychologist who uses cognitive techniques would have begun immediately helping you with your symptoms.

I don't know that you have a clear diagnosis at this point and I don't know if you've had a medical exam to insure there's not something physical that needs attention. Some of your sx could be related to physical imbalances that need to be corrected. We often see this with thyroid problems or dietary deficiencies. I'm not an MD, but I think this needs to be done first.

echamplin replied to Patricia Farrell, PhD's response:
Hi Dr. Farrell,