Skip to content
Anxiety/ hate my life
nebraskalove posted:
I had an ER visit in March for breathing issues. I thought I still had medicaid. I'm a college student and at the time my mother didnt have a job. I was told that medicaid should take care of it but they didnt. Now my bill is in collections. I don't want to have bad credit considering Im only 20. I want to get a nice apartment and car when I graduate. I don't know if I should pay the full 800 and ask collections to take it off or send a letter to the 3 credit bureas asking to take off. i feel like a loser and my anxiety is getting worse. i'm one of the worst human beings. I'm crying as I write this. Im so stupid for believing other people. Now my credit score is terrible that I wont be able to get credit card or a job since they check credit score. I hate my life.

rohvannyn responded:
I have terrible credit and I still have a job that pays pretty well. It's important that you understand that this isn't the end of the world. Medical debt is handled a little differently than regular debt. Either call the hospital and talk to the patient advocate, or talk to the collection agency and agree to pay it off at ten dollars a month or some such. Credit scores are a complex thing and one bad event can't ruin them completely. Getting work and paying other bills on time is more important in the long run

Take a deep breath, it'll turn out better than you think. Just get a little information and you will feel better.

nebraskalove replied to rohvannyn's response: