Skip to content
Graduation
An_252569 posted:
I graduate early and my graduation will be this December. I don't want to go to commencement. I'm getting a BA in Social Science with concentration in economics. However, my school won't announce my concentration which I devoted most of my study to. I feel like if they just announce social science people will think I'm stupid and that I picked a useless major. But I want them to know I worked hard and concentrated in Economics. I know this sounds like a silly reason but I have anxiety so now I'm just thinking about not going. Plus I don't know anybody in my graduating class since Im an early graduate and like 4 people will only come for me.

rohvannyn responded:
Keep your accomplishments in mind. Many people never graduate at all, and here you are, graduating early! That's awesome! I can understand wanting to have your concentration listed, but as a graduate I've noticed that most people say "what was your major?" and that gives you a chance to mention your concentration. Sure, only four people will come to your commencement, but you have one to go to! I didn't, and sometimes I wish I had. Will you regret it in the future if you didn't go? You have only one commencement. You have the right to enjoy it. Then again, if you really don't care, set it aside, don't go, and find some other way to celebrate your accomplishment.

Oh yeah. Almost forgot... CONGRATULATIONS!

An_252569 replied to rohvannyn's response: