Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Negative thoughts and social anxiety
kittykat90 posted:
Hello, I am new to this site and joined because I've been having severe mood swings and have just been very emotional. This could be coming from a number of things, but I'm not sure how to handle it or what to do. I will start off by explaining where this is probably coming from...

To start, I am a 23 year old female and I live with my boyfriend of 3 years. I am a student pursuing my B.A. and am going to graduate next year. Earlier this year (January) I found out I was pregnant and after a lot of thinking and talking about it, sadly we decided to have an abortion. It was a very emotional time for me and after it happened I didn't really talk about it much because I needed to move on.

Well, I never told my parents. And one night my sister and I were out drinking (we both are aggressive drunks) and she was very drunk and out of anger blurted out to my parents about my abortion. Don't remember much after but we got into a physical fight and I broke my finger. This happened July 3 and I still have a bandage and pins in my finger from the incident. -- I've had a lot of extreme fights with my boyfriend and other bad, crazy situations that have been alcohol-induced and I haven't drank since this.

We've moved on since then but lately, for the past few months I have been having feelings of sadness and have been emotional. Last night I went out with my boyfriend and I just felt extreme anxiety... I think people would say I'm a very pretty girl but when I was there I was worried about if I am pretty enough, worried that I'm not "fun" enough. I guess since I don't drink anymore I feel like the boring one and I''m so busy with school/work I don't do things too often so I feel like I have nothing interesting to say. And most of the times when I laugh, I feel like I'm forcing a weird, fake laugh.