Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
anxiety in school
nebraskalove posted:
In my Psychology class today we were discussing Skinner, behavior, positive/negative reinforcements, and other things of that nature. We had to work in small groups to come up with examples from our own lives. We really couldn't think of behaviors that we do a lot, so I used my own example of playing Just Dance on the Wii. I don't play it often, but I was presenting it with to the class and described the negative reinforcement as avoiding class work. Now I can't help thinking that my professor thinks that's all I do and I don't study. Now I keep thinking that she will fail me on purpose, by changing my test score or giving me a low score on a paper. I am a straight A student and want to keep it that way. I'm just nervous that she will purposely try to harm me because she thinks all I do all day is play games and avoid studying.

Reid Wilson, PhD responded:
Hey, nebraskalove-

I just responded to someone else's question about turning a backpack in at school (that she found abandoned on the ground) and then worrying that someone will accuse her of stealing the backpack, instead. It is the exact same thing (in my mind) as what you are worrying about. Here's my answer to her. See if you can relate: