Skip to content
should i seek a second opinion?
An_257525 posted:
Have been through some traumas in my life like the fire at my parents home, their divorce after I was removed from their home because of neglect, my grandfather's death at 7 and my father walking out when I was 8. In addition my mother is alleged to have consumed alcohol while pregnant with me; which if true has caused me to be diagnosed with a learning disability at 22. And so recently after many years of getting no real help with the anxiety, depression, night terrors, aggressive behavior; just to name a few things. My counselor from a vocational school I attend strongly suggested I seek out professional help, which have done, but I'm not getting any real answers. Should I seek a second opinion? I'd really like some answers so i can move toward living a happier, healthier life.

rohvannyn responded:
Sounds like you have been through a lot. Now, I'm no professional but it sounds like you have the answers you need. You know you have had trauma, you know you need help dealing with things in your life, you know you have not gotten the support you needed when you needed it.

Any normal human being would have massive problems under those conditions! What you really need is proper support on how to deal with all this, coping mechanisms to help yourself, and a therapist that is willing to help you build good habits. If your current therapist isn't doing that then you might need to find a different one. Not every therapist is a good fit for every patient. Hopefully the person you see now will help you decide if you can work together or not.

raprincess240 replied to rohvannyn's response:
Thank you for your helpful advice. I will strongly consider getting a different therapist. I sure hope it makes a difference.

An_257525 responded:
  • From a different psychatrist?
  •  
    atti_editor replied to raprincess240's response: