Skip to content
Feeling like no one believes me!
katieanne3 posted:
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting, even though I do read the community board often. I have had asthma now for about 4and a half years with one ER visit. The problem I am having is my family believing me. I had the flu two weeks ago and have not been able to completely resolve my symptoms. I did have a prednisone taper at that time.
I am having a worse flare up now and have trouble sleeping, so the mornings are a mess and I have little energy all day. Today, I was told by family " You sound ok" and got shrugged off. Even though I stated that I have been having trouble. Is there something I can say or do to help with feeling believed. I don't want sympathy, just acknowledgment or someother reaction.
Thanks for your help

Laura0711 responded:
Hi Katieanne,
I know what you are going through I have the same problem with my family. My Dad likes to think all my problems are in my head because of some mental health issues I have. I have learn to ignore them because no matter what I say they will not believe me. With the help of this broad and some very important friends I met here I get through the troubles I have. If you are having a worse flare now you might need to go back on the prednisone because you may have not been on it long enough this happens sometimes you'll stop your prednisone and your symptoms get worse. By saying "you sound ok" I assume that they mean you weren't wheezing you might try showing them some information on asthma were it shows that you don't always wheeze. Personally for me I almost never wheeze I just get really tight in the chest, sometimes I cough but mostly I just have chest tightness.

I hope this helps you. Just know you are not alone you can always post on this broad and get some support.

Yours,

Laura

deluxehd responded: