Skip to content
Adult Onset Asthma Questions
_Keith posted:
Hi. I'm new to this and I seem to have more questions than answers. I'm a couple weeks shy of my 50th birthday, I've been a very light smoker for quite a few years and have been participating in recreational hockey (roller, ice and street) for several years. I've been extremely active my entire life. A few months ago I got a nasty chest cold that lasted maybe a week, then went away. The only residual effect was a lingering cough that I couldn't shake. After about a month of it getting better and worse, but never going away, I went to the doctor and they diagnosed me with walking pneumonia. After a week of taking that medication, things seemed to be getting little better, but then the coughing returned. I went back to the doctor and they gave me more medication. After about a week I started noticing some weezing and shortness of breath - especially in the evenings, so I decided to go to a new doctor. This one told me that I have Adult Onset Asthma caused by an infection. She gave me Azithromicine, Methylprednisolone and Cheratusin for the coughing. I've been on them for 4 days now and I've felt a lot better. I'm still filled with questions though. The key ones being - despite these meds clearing my condition, could I relapse again? How can I be sure that this is asthma and not something else? Will I need to monitor this the rest of my life? I'm just curious and want opinions from others who would know. Thank you.

amcate responded:
I'm assuming the doctor's diagnosis of asthma is correct.

1. Despite these meds clearing my condition, could I relapse again? Asthma is a condition that is chronic. When a kid has it, sometimes they outgrow it. I don't know of any adults who outgrow it, though the symptoms are sometimes there and sometimes not. If a trigger happens again, like another infection, then yes, it could relapse.