Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
AERD and hives
An_243869 posted:
I'm new to the asthma community but not to the disease. I have AERD with allergies and over the past 25 years have been through the shots, the worsening asthma, the doctor saying was psychosomatic , the 80% occluded sinuses, two polypectomies and aspirin desensitization. In other words I've been through it all.

Aspirin desensitization worked great for me at first. More energy, fewer infections, my sense of smell came back. I could travel and exercise. But then I started getting hives every night at a round 7 p.m 12 hours after I take the aspirin and other maintenance medications. This as been getting worse for the past two years. Now I wake up with hives and my face swollen, and get hives, and itchy lips almost every night.

I'm worried that I might have to stop taking the aspirin but then what? I'm also trying to find any information on what to expect as far as the progression of this condition as I get older.

sgbl88 responded:
Welcome to the community.

I also have AERD and take aspirin daily. It sounds like you need a better doctor unless you have changed from the one who said it was psychosomatic. GOOD GRIEF!!! I had a GI say that I was coughing to get attention (fired him on the spot), but my asthma dr and GP are fantastic.

I do have hives occasionally, but not often. My face itches terribly on high pollen count days, mainly trees. I usually will take an extra benadryl on those days.

The worst hives I had were on my legs. My doctor and I decided that maybe it was the fabric softener my family uses when I am not around. She told me to run the washer with just water to rinse away any residue before washing my clothes with my sensitive skin products. Maybe your hives are being caused by the fabric softener in your sheets. Do you shower before going to bed? If not, the pollen that has collected in your hair and pillow maybe triggering the hives.