Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Questions on Severe Persistent Asthma
An_245124 posted:
Hello, I'm new to WebMD, and I'm turning to the asthma forums because I suffer from severe persistent asthma and can't afford my medications. Normally, I can't breathe on my own for more then 4 hours before I need another 10 minutes hooked up to my nebulizer. I had a terrible doctor for years who wouldn't respect my time and often make me wait entirely too long to get an appoint, because of that, I went treated for years. I finally got him to put me on a series of meds, each one didn't work. I was on flovent, which did nothing, and a whole host of other medications. After fighting with my doctor for 2 years, I went to another, who prescribed symbicort. Symbicort worked wonders, it was as if I didn't have asthma again. It was also over 250 bucks, and I couldn't afford it. That same new doctor then put me on advair which also worked but my medical assistance was cut and I can no longer afford any of my medications. As a full time grad student, I can't be lugging around my nebulizer, explaining to professors and students that I'm trying to breathe on my own.

Long story short, I have no insurance because the state government cut everyone on medical assistance and my standard rescue inhalers are about 40 dollars while advair and symbicort are over 200. I don't make enough money to afford those monthly. What am I supposed to do? I mean, other than wait for the day an asthma attack kills me in my sleep. I basically have no one to turn to since no doctor will see me without insurance. Even if they do see me, what are they going to do? Spend some of their "hard earned money" on medicine for a patient? Doubt it. If anyone can help me make since of this, I would appreciate it.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

sgbl88 responded:
Hi,

Have you tried getting on manufacturers assitance programs? You can get medication for free or for a greatly reduced price.