Skip to content
Fighting the Asthma Fiend - Representing My Country
Horsesforcourses posted:
I used to be a regular in this community some years ago. Used to post about coming to grips with having a very difficult to manage asthma. Since then I am a fair bit older and have moved on from many of the problems I used to encounter having a brittle type asthma.

I am married and have a daughter. Our lives and careers are devoted to horses. My husband is a farrier and I am a professional dressage rider, riding coach and horse trainer. It has taken me a long and winding road to get where I am with my family. I am so very proud to tell you that I have just been selected to represent my country as a dressage rider on the European Grand Prix dressage circuits. We will be flying our horses over to the UK from Australia in a matter of 3 weeks.

I spent years of trying to balance up life and living with a debilitating condition. Dealing with the Psychological implications of having a chronic disease, steroid resistance, attacks despite having maximal therapy, use of intravenous and subcutaneous infusions, trialling of different medications etc. I had a respiratory team at a major hospital. They became frustrated and impatient with the level of management I required. The relationship become unhealthy. I went to a few other respiratory doctors but got nowhere.

Part of the problem that the doctors disagreed with is the fact that I work with and ride horses. They thought that there were too many trigger factors associated. I argued that when I hadn't been around horses or was in a hospital setting that I was still having asthma exacerbations without being around horses. I was accused of being non-compliant because I refused to give up my career. I used to use the career of a doctor and how hard they have to work to get to where they are and then all of a sudden they give it away. I ask them how they would feel. They usually go quiet.