Skip to content
Asthma and weight gain
charliesangels07 posted:
Hi there, I am new to this, have never really been on anything like this before but I am going out of my mind with weight gain. My asthma flared up bad last year and unfortunately a very experienced GP persistently increased my dose of inhaled steroids resulting in her overdosing me for 4 months with 15 times the MAXIMUM dose allowed. This caused me to go into adrenal crisis and within 5 weeks I had gained 2 stone around my stomach and midline. I have been unable to loose the weight no matter what I do, I still need prednisolone frequently for exacerbations but I am on a NORMAL dose of inhaled steroids. I was also started on Gabapentin for neuropathic pain caused by all the inhaled steroids which I am aware can cause weight gain.I have a personal trainer and exercise 4 times a week including 5-10km runs and also follow a very strict eating plan from my trainer but I cannot seem to loose ANY weight. It is really getting me down so much so I can't look in the mirror. Has anyone else experienced anything like this? Any comments at all would be really helpful.Thank you.

wezman responded:
This is a tough topic but I've gained
weight as well. prednisone is a big culprit now a drink two big glasses of water before a meal and work out when i can. Hang in there its not the end of the world. I know how you feel but if you stay true to your plan the weight will gradually come off. "Wish you the best of luck"

charliesangels07 replied to wezman's response:
Hi there, thank you for your reply and support. I'm sorry to hear that you are going through this also. It is a tough battle. Thank you for your inspiring words, I suppose I have to think that if I didn't follow my diet and excercise I would put on a lot more weight. I will try to stay positive. Thank you. Please take care xxx

amcate responded: