Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Asperger's and Social Security Disability
Lauree_Parent posted:
Hi,

I am brand new to this support community and wanted to ask a couple of questions. But first: My son, who is 26, was just diagnosed with Aspberger's Syndrome last year (2012). He was diagnosed with ADHD when he was 9 but the Asperger's was not picked up. He has most of the symptoms of Aspergr's such as; keeping to himself, doesn't want to make friends, gets anxious when around anyone other than parents and brother, hasn't been able to get a job. He does not hold eye contact. Has trouble talking with people (delayed speech ie; trying to form in his mind what to say), has short and long term memory loss (prefers to have parent go with him to any appointments), anxiety and depression, and ADHD. Due to the fact that he cannot handle his own care or finances, we became his legal guardians early this year. He lives with us at home and we handle all his affairs.

He just got Social Security Disability, but we have asked for a review due to the fact that he has had it since birth and we want to go through my husband's Soc. Sec. We sent in a request for it and it was denied due to the fact that there was "insuficient evidence". We had contacted his childhood doctors, phycologist, and schools for information, but they no longer have those records.

So, my question is: How do we prove that he was born with the disability and that if he had the correct support during his childhood, he may have been able to cope with his Asperger's Syndrome as an adult. We have until the end of February (2013) to file our disagreement.

Thanks for reading my lengthy post. I would appreciate any advice.

cameografx responded:
hi Lauree,