Skip to content
lumbar laminectomy,discectomy
clavo1974 posted:
Hi I'm new to this so please help. I was recently told that I need to have a fusion done at L5-S1. Just wondering if anyone has had this done and what was your outcome. The procedure I am going to have done is : lumbar laminectomy, discectomy ,with a fusion. Any information will be greatly useful. I've been doing research on my Dr. and on the procedure but just need first hand experiences. Thanks for the help and info.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

pdl2k2002 responded:
I don't know if I'm the right person to reply to this. I had my L5-S1 fused in June of 2008. I am still is severe pain. That was my third surgery on that disc. The 1st surgery worked great. It was just a discecomty. My second was a partial fusion with no plates or screws, and a partial discecomty. My last surgery was the same one your having. All three times I didn't have a choice. I NEEDED the surgery. I couldn't work, walk , or sit. So in that case the surgery helped. If you don't have to have the surgery, I would really think twice, then think about it 2 more times. I am sorry if what I said doesn't help.

Lenny

Dot40324 responded:
Hi and welcome. Sorry you are having back problems too. I have had 4 lumbar surgeries with the last 2 being fusions.

In 2004 I had my L5-S1 fused. Then eventually the L4 slipped out over the fused area and last March I had the old hardware removed, added the L4 to the fusion and they installed larger hardware, cages, etc.

Of course everyone heals and fuses at different rates plus each Dr is different as to his post-op orders. It takes rather a long time to fully fuse and it is a must to follow the surgeons directions.

I still have my back pain but the pain in my legs are so much better than before the surgery. Surgery hardly ever gets rid of the pain in the spine but it does relieve some of the nerve pain.