Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
I'm leaking spinal fluid within my closed incision...
sacred_willow posted:
Hi, everyone. This is my first time posting anything on here. I've been reading through a lot of discussions & I'd like you guys take on my situation, please....
On Jan. 28th of this year, I had lower back surgery for a herniated disc that had ruptured. About a week after, my incision opened & I started to leak spinal fluid... my incision opened further as time passed. I will add that I informed my surgeon, even went in to show them & thought they's stitch it up, but no.. since it had opened completely, he sent me to wound care for them to tend, culture & pack. They basically refused & did a CT scan w/contrast & determined I had a pocket of CSF & also... MRSA. So, off to a 2nd surgery & I went back to the surgeon. This was 1 month & 4 days later, to "fix" the pocket & "clean up" the MRSA. Everything was great until the 2nd week after this surgery started, (which was last week) started, where I developed a cyst like "hill" on my back at the top of my now- fairly healed incision. Outside looks great but I am in severe pain down my back, buttocks, legs, & feet. I feel a burning sensation within my incision... also I can feel the CSF dripping inside... or something just like it. It feels like it did, trickling, when it was opened! So, I went in, he drained the fluid off by way of a tap last Wednesday & sent it off to be cultured again. They (his office), has been closed since then, I called this morning & will be in the office after lunch for the same thing I assume, to have it drained... it was horribly painful & I'm not thrilled at all!