Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
I need to know if TRAMADOL ORAL is a NON-NARCOTIC pain reliever.
ktoc35 posted:
I am taking tramadol oral 50 mg and need to know if it is a non-narcotic pain reliever

davedsel57 responded:
Hello.

You can look up any medication using the "Drugs & Supplements" tool at the top of this page.
Blessings, -Dave

ktoc35 responded:
I did do that first but it did not specify if it was a narcotic or not. It just said it was used for moderate to severe pain.

davedsel57 replied to ktoc35's response:
I did a Yahoo search and found information here: http://www.medicinenet.com/tramadol/article.htm

The statement "Tramadol, like other narcotics used for the treatment of pain..." would indicate that it is a narcotic.
Blessings, -Dave

An_189584 responded:
it is not a narcotic pain reliever

HAdams27 responded:
it's not a narcotic or it would be a controlled drug which it's not...im a pharmacy tech so i know its not a narcotic

marieh9 responded:
Yes it is a non narcotic pain reliever. It is additive though. It took me 5 days to get rid of the withdrawal but you can do it when you need to. i took 50 mg a day then two 50 mg twice a day for a month. It gave me insomnia after about 3 weeks. Vicadin works better but I got insomnia after two days with that. I have had other friends say the same. Tramadol helps made the pain tolerable but didn't knock it out for me. hope this helps.
Marieh9

marieh9 replied to davedsel57's response:
From my understanding after having read the pack insert it is a non-narcotic moderate pain reliever but acts like a narcotic.
One can always call their pharmacist too.
MarieH9

OldStormyAngel responded:
According to different sources I've read Tramadol is a Non-narcotic pain reliever

MissLisa16 responded: