Skip to content
Lower back pain when laying down to sitting up that causes breathing problems
Anon_227695 posted:
Hi. My name is Robert and I am a military combat veteran. I have been told that I have degenerative disk disease when I was in the Army years ago, but have not experienced real bad back pain until about three months ago.

My current back pain begins when I am laying down and stand up. Usually at night. When I stand up after laying down, my back seems to spasm or tighten up so bad that the pain seems to knock the breath out of me, causing me to have to make shallow breaths which can last up to about 30 seconds to five minutes. The back pain when it happens as I explained will usually go away pretty quickly if I lean forward or sit down again after standing. Sitting, walking, and other movements do not cause this level of pain (very minimal) throughout the day.

I presented this problem to a doctor or nurse practicioner (cannot remember) at a Veterans Administration hospital and an x-ray was taken and was told to go to physical therapy and given pain meds. When I went to my PT appointment, I was told to do some stretching exercises. No comment was made about the x-ray results. I went back for a follow up appointment for the same issue after my initial PT appointment and was told to make another PT appointment, which is scheduled on November 1st.

I know that my posture may not be the best and I need to work on proper sitting posture as I do a lot of typing as I am a full-time graduate student which may be some of the cause. However, waiting over two months to see PT to learn new stretches seems pointless. I am wondering if there are other people who have experienced this type of back pain and if anyone has any suggestions to reduce these symptoms. Your comments/suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated.

bj1208 responded:
hi and welcome to the support group -