Skip to content
Returning to Work; Post Micro-Decompression Surgery
An_244475 posted:
I am 59 yrs old and otherwise in great health but I do have per multiple MRIs severe neural foraminal stenosis at L4-5 and moderate to severe central spinal stenosis at L2-3, L3-4, L4-5. After 2 (back to back) epidurals finally elevated my severe radicular [right sided> pain and several weeks of conservative PT, my neurosurgeon is recommending micro-decompression at all relevant levels of my lumbar spine. I'm a lawyer/litigator and although I go to court and take depositions fairly frequently [i.e., drive & am on my feet/standing>, about 55% of my "job" is sedentary/behind a computer. I would like to get a better idea, all other matters being equal, about how long it will be before I can return to "my work." My doc, a great guy, said "4 to 6 weeks, possibly sooner." Is it pie in the sky to think I could return to work w/in 2 to 3 weeks? Thanks . . .
FirstPrevious12NextLast

bj1208 responded:
hi and welcome to the support group -

everyone is different and heals differently - so would go with what your physician states and look at 4-6 weeks - you do have several areas where treatment is needed and it will take time to heal.

one of the most important things to remember is to do as the surgeon says after surgery - remember all the do's and don'ts and be sure to get enough rest as this is the best medicine for speedy recovery.

please keep us posted as to how you are doing - take care - Joy

dianer01 responded:
Hi,

Joy is right, there are no short cuts in back surgery. I was 45 had a laminectomy and diskectomy at L2-3 and L3-4. When I woke up from the surgery I cried from relief because I was in no pain.

My work keeps me at a desk about 75% of the day. My surgeon kept me out of work for 3 weeks. About the time I went back to work, I also started physical therapy 3 days per week.