Skip to content
My ACDF with Allograft and plating (a positive story)
tsdemayo posted:
Hello, I'm new to this discussion, but have some very positive news.
On May 10th, 2012(4 days ago), i had an ACDF with an allograft and titanium plating on C-5 and C-6. This is what i have learned, and how i am feeling.
I've learned that an ACDF is the removal of cervical disc/disc's, and replacing that area with bone. An allograft is bone grafting with another humans bone tissue, and titanium is a very light weight silver non-ferromagnetic ,metal.
I was terrified to have such invasive surgery, absolutely terrified! I was not well informed, as most of the information i read, was on the internet.
I went to the Hospital at 6:30am, went into the O.R. at 7:30am, woke up with my husband right beside me, and as soon as i could eat a muffin, and pee, they took my i.v. out, and i was home by noon.
I don't have to wear a collar, because of the titanium, and i have no stitches on the outside, i have Dermabond(superglue!). I have a bit of a sore throat, so i get all the ice cream i want, and i can't lift anything over 5 pounds for the next 6 weeks. I do have some pain, primarily from inflammation of the previously compressed nerve, but that will get better as the nerve continues to heal. I get tired easy, but am told that is normal. I feel great, and sleep like a baby. I no longer wake up in pain, and have the feeling back in my fingers, and left arm.
Before all this happened, i was an avid hiker, and roller skater, but as the pain, and numbness got worst, my balance started to go, so i had to stay off the mountains, and roller skates. My recovery time is 12 weeks, and i'll be so happy to be hiking in the beautiful New England colors, and roller skating throughout the winter...the things i would never be able to do again, if i didn't have this surgery.

trs1960 responded: