Skip to content
Radiofrequwncy Ablation or RFA
mamayoli posted:
Hi everyone,
I am new to this sight. Last summer I fell on the floor cleaning cat litter. My lower back pain sent me to the ER. In the hospital I was diagnosed with MRSA in my L4 and L5 in addition to the fall. I was given Morphine to ease the pain. After getting out of the hospital I had 42 days of IV Therapy. My back pain slowly went away. However the pain returned this past January. The pain was so intense that I could only stand or walk for a short time. I went to my primary doctor and she gave me pain meds. They didn't work for very long. Then she sent me to a Pain Management doctor. I had a MRI which reaveled bulgin dics in L4 - L5. I was givien injections in my back. They lasted for a day or two and the pain returned. I am diabetic and have CHF. The shots increased my blood sugar and fluid intake. So no more shots. The pain doctor suggested RFA. A radiofrequency distrupts nerve funtion. The nerve can no longer tranmit pain to the brain. Has anyone had this procedure? I have not made up my mind yet to get the procedure. I would love to hear from you.

bj1208 responded:
hi and welcome to the support group -

Yes I have had this done (2 times) in the past - and there have been many members who have recently had this done.

Unfortunately the procedure did not work for me but as stated there have been quite a few members that have had this done and have had great results where the procedure has given them relief anywhere from a couple of months up to a year.

Hopefully the doctor informed you that even though this procedure deadens the nerve roots it's possible for the nerve roots to grow back.

sometimes the boards are slow over the weekends as many members are spending the time with their families etc.,

hopefully this will help - take care - Joy

trs1960 replied to bj1208's response:
I've had it done 4 times and only once was it successful.