Newbie - Need advice regarding Cervical Spinal Stenosis
sp2001 posted:
Hello everyone, first off - so glad I found this community!

I am recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and Cervical Spinal Stenosis (MRI confirmed). I am 33 years old, mom of 2, and currently not working due to a lay-off. As for the Fibromyalgia, it wasn't a huge surprise, I have had my suspicions for awhile now. Also because I was diagnosed with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome when I was 18. I'm still learning how to manage this.

But I need some advice about the CSS. It's hard to find people my age who have this and I'm not 100% sure why I have it. I'm nervous about what lays ahead for me with this. My pain management Dr. ordered the MRI and told me that I have a "small narrowing of the spinal canal". I had to look it up when I got home (where I learned it's called CSS) and then call Dr back to confirm. Ridiculous, I know. Anyway, he prescribed celebrex and I had an allergic reaction to this. (Hives, rapid heartbeat). Next up, he wants me to try a TENS Unit. *sigh*

So, I'm doing my homework, trying to learn what I can. Any advice/knowledge/experience would be GREATLY appreciated! Thank you!

trs1960 responded:
Homeowrk is your best bet. You are young for stenosis...although I'm no expert. I have a freind with Fibro and I wouldn't wish that on anybody. I've known her since her teens and she married a good friend. She's abeatiful woman and mother of two. She puts on a good happy face, but I can see it in her eyes.

Sorry I have no advice, I usually don't reply if I have nothing informative or postive to add,, but I wanted to tell you to defeintely do your homework as everyone is unique and we all fight our battles alone. Friends and support groups are great, but we need to learn to fight our battle alone. I had a psychiatrist explain this to me in detail and it made sense, but I can't remember that many big words! It's not a negative thing.