Skip to content
Back Pain, in the corner with no where to turn
An_250917 posted:
Greeting's All: I'm new to this forum. I'm a disabled vet. I spent 26 years in the Air Force, which is where I got hurt. I've had 2 ddysectomys on my L5/S1 before I had a spinal fusion on the same area. This all occurred around the 2001 time frame. Right after my spinal fusion, I still had pain on my disc above that surgical area, which later was found to be ruptured. So they gave me another dysectomy on that level as well (again 2001). June of last year (2012), that same disc above my fusion ruptured and again they did another dysectomy on me. Recently though - I've begun to have massive pain on either side of my back where the muscles run along my area of my original surgery. I will be doing an activity when all of a sudden it feels as if my spine is collapsing on itself. I kind of fall to my knee's, then for a few days after suffer with paralyzing muscle pain, and I'm unable to stand straight. This has occurred on both my left and right side. Has or does this happen to anyone else - can anyone tell me what is wrong - I need help. Heat helps, pin meds make me itch and feel like I'm wired awake - and I'm at a lost and wits end. Thanks for reading this - Rich

trs1960 responded:
Thank you for your service to country.

I hope the VA treats you well.

My opinion: I've had similar pain issues with a signifigants length of spinal fusion the small muscles that attack to the spinus process (sp?) don't move and will have terrible spasm problems. It sounds to me like good theraputic treamtent is needed. It would seem that the lack of proper post surgical care has allowed you to just continue to damage your spine with what we call the dominoe effect. When you fuse two vertabrae the forces of shock and articulation are displaced to the discs above and below. If not treated correctly your spine will just coninue to rupture discs above and/or below the initial injury.