Skip to content
Spinal leak
Bentleybob posted:
Hi an new to the site , I have just had a rf ablation l45 and l12 with an si joint injection. 4 days post massive headaches.told by dr I have spinal fluid leaking and to lie down for 48 hr and it might repair, has this worked for any one. Thanks

davedsel responded:
Hello and welcome.

I don't have any direct personal experience with spinal fluid leaking. My wife has had this procedure with no complications.

I did some searching on the internet and found a good article. Here is a link: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0002063/

According to that article, bed rest for several days is a treatment. IMHO (and I am not a doctor or any type of medical professional) if you start having symptoms as described in the article or it does not stop you should contact the doctor that performed the procedure asap.

I pray the leaking stops soon and you get relief from the procedure.
Click on my username or avatar picture to read my story.

Blessings,

-Dave

An_250887 responded:
Hello,
The massive headache is an unfortunate occurrence with a spinal leak. Please, follow your physicians instructions, but if you have an increase in head pain of any other symptoms you should notify your physician.
An Anesthesiologist, CRNA or your physician can do a small proceedure to "patch" the spinal leak.
Hope the 48 hour rest will do the trick. This type of headache is notoriously painful, so I hope you get some relief and feel better soon.
Good luck to you.

memommie6 responded: